A Way of Life


Amazing that today, the 74th anniversary of Japan’s attack on Pearl Harbor, all the talk on CNN is about Donald Trump’s proposition that all Muslims be banned from travel to the United States. This follows his suggested surveillance of mosques and database of Muslims.

Even more amazing to me is what I heard from Trump supporter, Jeffrey Lord, on Anderson Cooper tonight. Mr. Lord practically gloated that there is a precedent for Trump’s ideas and brought up the fact that after the bombing of Pearl Harbor, President Roosevelt authorized Japanese Americans be put on curfew and restricted to military zones. He talked about how radios, cameras, etc., were confiscated from them.

Following the bombing, approximately 120,000 people of Japanese descent (almost 2/3 were American citizens) were sent to internment camps because they looked like the enemy.

Mr. Lord was quick to say he was not advocating internment. Certainly not! But click here to see a chronology of what preceded the internment of Japanese Americans after the bombing of Pearl Harbor. Notice any similarities to what’s being talked about today?

I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again. Fear is a slippery slope, and we don’t even notice that we’re sliding down a little more every day.

Yesterday, in an interview with Fareed Zakaria, Bono said:

[More than] trying to take away our lives, they (ISIS) are trying to take away our way of life. If they change the nature of the United States and the way people think about pluralism and inclusiveness, then they win. Don’t let them win.

This entry was posted in Current Events, History, Prejudice and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to A Way of Life

  1. Steve says:

    Donald Trump makes it okay to be a racist. But I’m not calling him a racist. I’m not gonna go there. He is a racist.But I’m not going to call him a racist. I won’t do that.

    • Jan Morrill says:

      And terrible things are gonna happen if he becomes president. I don’t want to scare you, but there will be some really, really bad things that are gonna happen. Mark my word. It’ll be huge. We’re gonna be in such trouble. Such trouble.

  2. Steve says:

    Hah…what an amazing ability to speak out of both sides of his mouth.

  3. John Fawcett says:

    Someone that will say anything to get elected will do just about anything once elected. Scary thought!

    WE are living in very dangerous times. The likes of Dick Cheney along with his neocon pals got us into this mess in the middle east . GWB played the stooge. Now instead of concentrating on our own affairs and global warming we are fighting a growing threat from external forces.

    But the most dangerous threat is not external. It’s a breakdown of our democracy. I stated in an earlier post that we are close to fascism and I stand by that.

    I agree with you Jan. If Trump is elected we are in deep trouble. A megalomaniac, he certainly for his own reasons could end up to be our fascist leader. No wonder many disadvantaged and ignorant citizens are heralding Trump. He speaks their language.

    You talk about Japanese Americans internment but I bet a large percentage of Trump supporters either don’t know the history or think it was a grand idea. It goes way beyond being scared and more than likely comes from being xenophobic first.

    I am sorry to say that I have several friends that fall into that category and I have tried but can’t seem get through to them as to what the man really stands for.

    • Jan Morrill says:

      I agree, John, that many people seem to have forgotten or re-written the history of the Japanese American internment to quell their fears today. I also agree that a man who will say anything to get elected will do anything once elected. I don’t think Trump has a concept of the Constitution.

  4. I’m very worried about the future of our country. It seems the weapon of fear is being wielded by both sides in the race to the elections, and the fervor engulfing both extremes of the rhetoric, on both sides of the political coin really is frightening to me.

    • John Fawcett says:

      The rhetoric is certainly knee deep and I worry that things could spin out of control but I am not sure what you are getting at. Is there a Trump on the left that I am unaware of. Political speech is to be expected. Promises, promises promises are standard for the election season. Sewing hate and fear should be out of bounds.

      • Jan Morrill says:

        John, thankfully, nobody on the left rises to the level of Trump’s rhetoric, but there’s still plenty of it. That’s part of the problem with politics. The thing is, we succumb to the rhetoric we want to hear. Trump’s followers are sick of political correctness, as am I. But though plenty politically incorrect, Trump’s bloviating is still rhetoric.

    • Jan Morrill says:

      Madison, I don’t recall an election where I so believed my vote may have to be cast between the lesser of two evils. In fact, I’m working on a blog this morning about that very topic. 🙂

  5. John Fawcett says:

    The opposite of political correctness is political incorrectness I suppose. Another way to define political incorrectness is insults, rudeness, boorishness. It’s no surprise that there are many more synonyms for rudeness than politeness. That is one of the main reasons our politics are so screwed up.

    “The thing is, we succumb to the rhetoric we want to hear.” Is this why people dislike political correctness. In my opinion political incorrectness should be left to comedians, cartoons and satire and outside of serious matters like politics. There are ways to get a point across without being rude.

  6. Pingback: The Slippery Slope of Passivity and Prejudice | Jan Morrill Writes

Leave a Reply

